El entretiempo (English)

hat_springEntretiempo. This is a Spanish word that doesn’t exist in English. As I used to live in Melbourne I didn’t use it too often. You don’t need it as you have four seasons in one day and the weather is unstable. However, I live in Perth now and yesterday I was walking back home in the sun when I realized how good I felt. I remembered how I like the entretiempo.

Entretiempo is the time between winter and summer seasons, that is spring and autumn. I prefer spring as plants are blooming, days are warmer and longer, you can almost touch the summer beach days and it’s my birthday (obviously in the Northern Hemisphere).

I’ve looked up for its translation and the most similar word is half-time but it doesn’t do justice to my lovely Spanish word. English speakers, I give it to you for free. Take it. But most of all, enjoy it.

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 por eva el noviembre 11, 2014 - 9:16 pm

    qué generoso de tu parte! pero a quién le has pedido permiso tú para ir regalando palabras? jeje.

    • #2 por mevoyaaustralia el noviembre 11, 2014 - 9:18 pm

      A ti no, creo. Bueno, me han contado que tienen un tal ‘between seasons’, pero no es tan musical…

Responder

