Un NO a tiempo / A NO in time (Esp / Eng)

¿Alguien no se ha enterado de que estoy buscando trabajo? Hace un par de semanas vi una oferta que me interesó muchísimo. Ni siquiera era de periodista. Consistía en organizar el trabajo del jefe: tareas administrativas, llevarle la agenda, social media, escribir sus discursos…

Es una organización sin ánimo de lucro. Cuando vi lo que hacen pensé: “Yo quiero formar parte de ese proyecto”. Y tuve algunas ideas.

Les mandé mi currículo, me presenté. Les llamé días después y me dijeron que había sido seleccionada y que me llamarían en breve. Diez días después todavía no sabía nada de ellos y fui yo la que descolgó el teléfono. La respuesta, seca y breve, fue ésta: “Si no me te hemos llamado es porque no estás seleccionada”. Colgué. Y lloré y lloré y lloré. Me sentí como una mierda. No es la primera vez que me dicen no pero me costó encajarlo porque había sido un claro .

Me gusta sacar algo bueno de lo que me hace sentir mal y pensé en cómo conseguirlo. Decidí enviarles las ideas que había tenido, dárselas, sentirme útil. Las junté en un documento, cuatro cosas muy sencillas que nunca incluyeron un Deberíais o un Tenéis que. Escribí un correo electrónico contándoles todo lo que me gustaba de su página web y después les expliqué lo que incluía mi documento. El correo fue intencionadamente humilde, eliminando cualquier palabra que sonara arrogante. Por último (y algo muy habitual en Australia) pregunté si podían explicarme el porqué de la decisión, ya que quería estar mejor preparada para la próxima vez.

A la hora tenía una respuesta, seca y breve. Su correo electrónico decía que la web estaba siendo rediseñada y que las redes sociales estaban abandonadas porque no tenían un community manager. Su Gracias fue tan frío como mecánico.

Me quedé atónita. No lo pillaron. Se ofendieron. Las cosas siempre pasan por algo y yo soy feliz porque he descubierto que nunca querría trabajar con gente así.

Transformé mis lágrimas en una gratificante certeza.

thankyou

 

A ‘NO’ in time

Didn’t you know that I am looking for a job? Two weeks ago I was interested in a job offer even though it wasn’t a journalistic position. The offer was as a personal assistant to organize life’s boss: administrative tasks, schedule meetings and write speeches, social media… It is a non-profit organization and when I saw what they do I thought I’d like to be part of the team.

I sent my résumé to them and a personalized cover letter. I called them a few days later and I was informed that I had been shortlisted. However, ten days after my phone call I had no news from them so I called them back again. Their response, sharp and cold, was that I hadn’t been contacted as I wasn’t shortlisted anymore. I hanged up and I cried and cried and cried. I felt shitty. I can deal with a no but I didn’t understand why my yes became a no without any reason.

But I like bringing good out of bad so I decided to email them the ideas that I had already had for their organization as I wanted to feel useful. Firstly, I told them what I liked from their website and then I drafted some few simple and clear proposals with no reference to words such as You should or Have to. I was humble intentionally and I deleted anything that could seem arrogant. Finally, I asked for some feedback about their decision as I’d like to be a better candidate for the next opportunity.

An hour later I received an email, sharp and short. They told me that their website was being redeveloped and they didn’t have a Communications Manager for Social Media, but this was going to be rectified. After that, a robotic Thank you.

I was stunned. They didn’t get it. They got offended. But things always happen for a reason and I feel really happy as I realized that I would never want to work for people like that.

I changed my tears into a gratifying certainty.

, , ,

  1. #1 por cristina el octubre 3, 2014 - 2:05 am

    Qué raro que no te seleccionaran

    • #2 por mevoyaaustralia el octubre 3, 2014 - 10:25 am

      Bueno, hay muchas personas ahí fuera… Seguro que tenían algo que buscaban y yo no tenía. A la próxima

  2. #3 por sue el octubre 3, 2014 - 8:56 am

    Hi bego

    you are right not to work for an organization like that. I applied for a not for profit once and was treated shittily too. The one I work for now isn’t like that. You get good and bad employers. It is sort sighted on their part to treat people with so little consideration. Keep your chin up. Keep looking.

    Good to ask for feedback too. A good employer will give it if they have time. Sometimes there are simply too many applicants wanting feedback

Responder

